Saandilyan, historical writer.


I love books and have been reading fiction right from my school days. But my introduction to fiction was through English viz., Enid Blyton and then Hardy Boys and later Jeffrey Archer and other best sellers. Sometime during my X Std vacation my father introduced me to Tamil books and would make sure that I read atleast one Tamil novel to every two English books. Since I had to get money from him to rent English story books from lending library, I had to tow his line. Thanks to my father and his wide collection of Tamil novels, I had a fairly good exposure to authors like Na.Paarthasarathy, Mu.Va, Akilan, Sujatha, Manian, etc. even at such an early age. But the one I loved most was Saandilyan and though his books are voluminous, it is a great pleasure to read and re-read them. Ofcourse, there were many novelists who wrote historic novels, Kalki being the most famous. But somehow, I am prejudiced towards Sandilyan may be because of the way he depicts war strategies in such minute detail in his stories.  

I had the chance to read “Yavana Rani” again. I am sure I must have read this book atleast four times starting from my X standard vacation. But every time I read, I find it as an interesting novel, a great story based on a real war and enjoy it immensely. Infact, I would go as far to say that this was his masterpiece. Saandilyan’s historic novels are famous for his fantastic description of nature, his extraordinary talent of blending historic (and real) characters with his imaginary characters, his painstaking efforts to make sure that everything he writes is historically correct and above all, an engrossing story woven in between. The research he does for each novel of his is amazing and he quotes all the books he had referred to write each novel in the preface but it is his ability to sprinkle the historic facts throughout the story that makes it interesting. Yavana Rani for instance is about how Karikala Chozhan fought and won the battle of Venni (the place where the battle was fought) crushing both Pandya & Chera kings (the two big Kings who ruled South India during that time) to regain his rightful throne. But the story revolves around a fictional character of Illanchezhiyan, leader of a small army and how he helps the King in this great war.

Almost all his novels were written for weekly magazines, so characteristically each chapter ends with a surprise or a twist so that the reader’s interest in the novel is retained till the next week. Also all the chapters start with a summary of the previous week’s events to make sure that the readers haven’t forgotten the old events with a long winding and pretty lengthy sentence. Though his novels are pretty lengthy, Yavana Rani for instance is published in two parts and is nearly 1280 pages long but to his credit it has to be said that he writes it in a very interesting way that we crave for more. Ofcourse, sometimes he gets into lengthy descriptions and narrations about nature and physical features of women, especially when we eagerly look forward with bated breath to see how events unfold. Also, in certain cases, he ends a chapter with a very important knot but the knot is revealed only after a couple of chapters testing our patience. Everything said and done, Saandilyan’s novels are a trove of historical information and I, for one, can say was interested in history because of his novels and feel proud to live in a country which is so rich in culture and one of the earliest civilizations of the world.

About expressingmythoughts

Love reading books and music. Avid cricket fan but also like to watch almost all sports.
This entry was posted in Tamil Novels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saandilyan, historical writer.

  1. Gopinath says:

    Hi Senthil,

    Chance se illa pa….supera ezhudha aramichi te ! I should say that this should have been the most well crafted article you have written. Ignoring the small mistakes like instead of is, you have used his….but still….I can see an excellent narrator and writer inside senthil…awaiting to break out.

    All the best !

    • Hi Gopi –

      Thanks for your comments. As promised, I had made sure that my next blog is on a Tamil novel. Thanks to you once again. I am amazed at your ability to find faults. I had read the article twice but couldn’t spot the mistake. You are amazing man. You should be in the testing team 🙂

      Hope with your encouragement I dedicate more time to this blog.

  2. Menaka says:

    Hi,
    Many people will not have the interest to read historical novels but you have got inspired of reading historical novels, thats great. Now-a-days people are reading English novels more than tamil novels . This blog make others to read tamil novels also hereafter, even I have got the interest of reading this book. Even you are having a busy schedule day-to-day though you are spending some time to create blogs that is really a great job. I am sure that this article will make good impression about the historical tamil novels so surely this will create an interest to read the historical novels among the people. My suggestion is that you could have mentioned some other historical tamil novels also in this blog. Your interest through books is greatly appreciated. Awaiting for your next blog. All the best !

    • Hi Menaka –

      Thanks a lot for your comments. If even one person is interested in reading because of this blog, I would feel great. Ofcourse if you are interested, I can give you a long list of Saandilyan novels, which would surely keep you occupied for a long time. Here’s hoping that my blog inspires a few to read Tamil novels. Keep reading my blog and also Tamil novels 🙂

  3. Muthu G says:

    Great review and excellent narration. Reading historical stories require lot of confidence on the author. Sandilayan surely tops the list of Tamil authors to have won that confidence among tamil audience. Thanks for re-introducing us to one of the great characters of Tamil Nadu.

    • Hi Muthu –

      Not sure if reading historic stories require confidence, but surely require a lot of patience 🙂 and I do agree that Saandilyan is my favourite author of historic novels. Thanks for reading and commenting on the article.

  4. Prabha Prakash says:

    From the moment I had received the alert [on SP’s cell] I had been impatiently waiting to grab an opportunity to open and read the blog — and I am glad I did so !
    Though I have never been able to read Saandillyan myself, I was surrounded by his fans in my family, and I was [the passive] part of the admiration and appreciation club of his weekly “master-pieces”. I am very happy to see you, the younger generation appreciating the treasures of the old in such a wholesome way.
    I join you in hailing one of the great masters of Tamil literature. I would also like to add a word of appreciation for your own writing style, which is at your usual good level. If at all I have to add a suggestion is that, I miss your humour which is the trademark of your conversations; wish you would allow that to seep into your blogs.
    Hope your hibernation period is over and more will come from “expressingmythoughts”
    Prabha Prakash

  5. Hi PP –

    Thanks for your comments. Will surely try to bring humour into my future blogs.

Leave a comment