Weekend Outing – Cheap and Best…(for children)..!


Though Chennai is a good place to live, where you can reach almost any place through public transport (have to conveniently forget that it is crowded at any time of the day), with its long coast line and a lot of places to visit, I have always felt that the cost of living is too high. If I wanted to take my family out during weekend, it would always cost 1k. If it is going to be a movie, then the ticket cost itself could very easily come to half a thousand.

In this pretext, the place I went out today proved to be not only cost effective but also a very enriching experience. The fact that it is in the centre of the city makes it more attractive and the joy that you see on the face of your children would make it a worthwhile experience. Well, if you had not guessed it by now, I am talking about Children’s park in Guindy. I started from my place around 4pm and reached the place by 4.30pm, thanks to the light traffic on Sunday afternoon. The first surprise was the parking fees for my two-wheeler. I was expecting a minimum of Rs.10/- charge and was pleasantly surprised when they demanded Rs.5/-. Then came the entrance fee. For adults it was Rs.5/- and for kids less than 10 years old, (hold your breath) it was free.

I was a bit apprehensive about the park as I thought it would be in a very poor condition and there would not be much to look forward to. But I was proved wrong again. As soon as we entered we saw deer and my daughter’s joy knew no bounds. From that moment, my child was fully occupied and enjoyed every moment of the visit as she could see a lot of wild animals and birds but what stood out in my mind and worth mentioning was when I was able to touch a deer which was just lazing around and not confined as the other animals were and the peacocks. In the middle of the park, there was a play area for children which was again well maintained and a joy to see so many children enjoy themselves. I was also impressed by the fact that there were no canteens or stalls which sell sleazy foods at exorbitant prices. Ofcourse, the negative factor is that you couldn’t buy even a bottle of water if you wanted. Luckily, my wife bought a few packets of chips and a bottle of water, which I would strongly recommend to anyone who is planning to visit the place. By the time I left the park after two hours having spent just Rs.15/- for the whole trip, I was a very contended soul. I was happy to see my child enjoy her trip and what made it even more sweeter was the fact that I spent just a fraction of what I would have spent if I had gone anywhere else.

I don’t have a lot of interest in politics and abstain myself from commenting on the political parties but I have to break the rule and thank the Government for maintaining such a place in the heart of the city and making it a very affordable place for weekend outing.

About expressingmythoughts

Love reading books and music. Avid cricket fan but also like to watch almost all sports.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend Outing – Cheap and Best…(for children)..!

  1. Chotts says:

    Yeah its really a cheap and best place to take children on holidays…(But during week-days it happens to be the best place for lovers too..:-))…Expecting your next blog on Vandalur Zoo-another good place to take children to engage them for the whole day..Keep Blogging…:-)

  2. kala says:

    On weekends it is too crowded and on weekdays its a lovers park. But then the children will really enjoy watching the animals/birds. Definetely worth a visit. I hope the snake park is still there.

  3. Saravanan says:

    Yeh. I have also been to the children park with my kid. My daughter enjoyed a lot. I wish every one who have small kids should visit children park. Kids enjoy a lot here than other places even when we spend more money and take them to other places.

  4. Menaka says:

    Hi, Yeah Children’s Park is a best place that we can enjoy a lot and also very pleasant to see our little ones enjoying than us. They were not only enjoying but also seeing the birds, animals that they had studied in their books. They feel very happy to see them in reality. From the reality and practical life only they can get more information. Only practical life leads to work on experience. On theory (that is from books or tv) they may learn but only from the practical they can get more information, for example, if they are seeing any animals or birds, they are learning about their body texture, sounds they make, foods they eat etc. So we have to take little ones to these places to learn a lot. Information is wealth. We may also take the little ones to vedanthangal, Vandalur Zoo, Planetorium, botanical garden, etc These are not only enjoyable places but also this is an educational platform. We have to collect more details about these outings and also visit them. Keep on blogging. Bye.

  5. Gopinath says:

    I don’t like to comment on the part that in weekdays its a lovers park. (Poor lovers, they don’t have any other cheap place to go). Very useful info for parents with kids. Am sure most of the people who could have read this blog will spent the following week in Children Park. I do agree with the other good option of Vandalur Zoo and Planetorium. But we are missing the most beautifully done, very nearby place called ” The Anna Centinary Library”. I heard that merely the place itself is worth the visit. It has books for all walks of life / age. …..the embarassing thing is that even I am yet to pay a visit. Anyway….Senthivel…as usual…Great Work !!

Leave a comment